Most people are afraid of it.

Some people spend their lives trying to hide from it.

And a number of people even refrain from attempts to succeed because of it.

What is it?

Failure.

A word that undoubtedly crosses all of our minds; it looms over us and is always ready to fight its corner.

‘Don’t enter that talent show, you’re only going to fail’

This self-doubt is painfully destructive for many people who would otherwise succeed or at least gain something from an experience.

So why are we so afraid of this contrived condition?

There’s a rather key example from my own life that comes to mind when I think of just how destructive this word can be…

My last relationship, for example, was an utter disaster. Out of it, I became a broken bit of mush.

But it didn’t have to be like that.

In fact, I wanted to end it before it hit the rock bottom that it did… and I know this because I had this exact train of thought…

‘I can’t break up with him because that would mean that I have failed.

ARRRRRRRRHGKISUELGHOSGNLVRIGTJOW;IETJ

Was the thought of ‘failure’ SO bad that I was willing to carry on being unhappy just to avoid it?!

Apparently so.

Damn you past-and-unforgivably-silly Anna!

(And whilst we’re on the topic of past-tellings-off….

DON’T YOU DARE INSTALL SIMS BECAUSE YOU WILL WASTE MANY VALUABLE HOURS ON IT!)

Back to the point though, I wholly believe that it’s so vital to realise that failure is not something to be afraid of.

Since I have accepted this I have failed at many things… standing for head girl, becoming a published poet and I even failed a maths test (although the latter is not advised!)

Embrace failure because it will only otherwise hinder success.

And just in case you’re in need of a little more proof…

Isaac Newton first failed at farming before he became a scholar at Cambridge University.

Dr. Suess was rejected 27 times before being published.

Marilyn Monroe’s first contract with Columbia Pictures ended because they told her she wasn’t pretty or talented enough to be an actress.

So, let the failing begin!

