A lot of people dream about meeting their favourite fictional characters.

And I for one am just one of those dreamers!

I thought it would- could- never happen until a couple of days ago…

As of late I have been reading quite an epic classic that is approximately nine hundred pages long. So far- around  seven hundred pages in- I have found it to be a reality-forsaking book with wondrous plots and characters.

And as usual I have put faces to the characters.

You could say, however, not just any old faces…

I’m fairly certain that I am not the only person, when reading a book, will automatically associate a name of a character to someone real in your life who shares that same name.

So for example if I were to read the line ‘Susan was a beautiful princess’ I would immediately conjure up the image of a Susan from my life and the face would stick until the end of the book.

Regardless of how well they actually fit the character description!

Following this habit: in my book there is a significant female character who shares the name with an acquaintance of mine and so without a conscious effort that acquaintance became the face of the character. And with my solid imagination she really became the character.

In an un-creepy way of course.

As aforementioned I am quite far on in my book and consequently I have become fond and familiar with the character even to the point that she is her own exterior.

It was a couple of days ago when I came face to face with this character (or my previous acquaintance of whose exterior had become engraved in my mind by the words of a book)

Honestly, it was one of the most magnificent and out-of-mind occurrences of my life! It was like the character from the book had just taken a leap into reality.

Previously she was just an image in my mind but now she was alive.

This will probably be the closest I will ever get to my dreams of meeting the fictional, and it was insanely spectacular.

Ahhh crazy old me, eh?

 

