“I love you, but…”

“I would go out with you, however..”

“We were made for each other, nevertheless…”

        …”I’m not gay.”

I have realised that these scenarios occur, and often enough to spark my attention. This idea that one person cannot be with someone of their opposite sexuality even though they love one another.

To me this is insanity. If you love somebody then surely that is enough for you to be together?

I am aware of the obvious objections to this: one has labelled themselves as gay or straight and therefore one is surely only physically attracted to a single gender-

But how can that be so, if you find yourself in love with someone that doesn’t fit your sexuality?

To me, love isn’t about gender.

And because of this I’m not gay, bisexual or straight.

I am Anna Ward-Gow.

 

 

 

 

