Okay! I will start this slightly controversial blog by saying I do not take drugs, and I generally find the idea of needing to take something to have a good time is crazy (call me a bore!) yet nevertheless..

I believe that the legalisation of cannabis would be very beneficial to the country: to our humanity and economy. I cannot stand politics but when the government tells me that I will have debts of around Β£50,000 after uni, you will understand this sparks a concerned interest.

If cannabis were legal, then the government could put a huge tax on it (like cigarettes- money for the country’s piggy bank). As well as this, it would reduce the amount of criminals in the UK- for if it were legal, drug dealers would likely loose business anyway thus reducing the amount of unsafe substances passed around and space taken up in prison.

Smoking cigarettes is far more of a health risk than taking weed, so it’s more of the governments responsibility to illegalise that than to illegalise cannabis which has caused no known deaths or even great health risks.

And in the end as humans we have free will and so should be able to have freedom.

 

